Eurovision Radio

Listen to all the winning songs of the Eurovision Song Cotest since 1956 up to date



En Espaņol      

All the winners year by year

Winning countries by total of victories

32nd Eurovision Song Contest (Brussels 1987)

Video winning song: Hold Me Now - Johnny Logan - Ireland




The 32nd Eurovision Song Contest was held on May 9, 1987 in Brussels. The presenter was Viktor Lazlo.

Johnny Logan was the winner for Ireland of this Eurovision with the song, Hold Me Now. This was Logan's second victory and he became the first and only singer to date to win the contest twice. Furthermore, Johnny Logan has helped Ireland to win the Eurovision Song Contest three times. He won in the Netherlands in
1980 with "What's Another Year?" composed by Shay Healy. "Hold Me Now", this edition winning song, was also writen by him and later in 1992 in Sweden he would be the composer of the winning song "Why Me?", sung by Linda Martin. It could very easily have been four wins, as an earlier collaboration with Linda Martin, "Terminal 3" finished second to the winning Swedish song "Diggi-Loo Diggi-Ley" in 1984. Johnny is somewhat popular in Germany, The Netherlands, Belgium and Denmark, he also has a small core of loyal fans in the United Kingdom, as well as a big fan base in Ireland, across the continent of Europe he is sometimes referred to as "Mister Eurovision" by fans of the contest and the media at large.

"Hold Me Now" was voted as the 3rd most popular song in Eurovision history at the 50th anniversary concert in Copenhagen, Denmark, in October 2005. "What's Another Year?" was also nominated amongst the 14 finalists. It has sold over 3 million copies. "Hold Me Now" is also a million-seller.

See you in Dublin for the 33rd Eurovision Song Contest in 1988!

Home Page           Contact